Golf Student Reviews

5 Stars

Carlos is a gifted coach and has been an absolute pleasure to learn from. I am constantly asked by business associates to play golf and I want to feel as confident on the golf course as I do in the board room. Carlos has worked with me on my swing, stressing the right fundamentals. He also tells great stories and is just a really good person to learn from whether its golf or life in general. Big fan of Carlos – golf is a tough sport and it forces you to do a lot of things you are inherently unaccustomed to doing – Carlos approaches each lesson with confidence and positivity and has the patience to ensure your swing fundamentals are trending in the right direction. I now find myself practicing my swing at random points in the day because I want to get back onto the course and show improvement! 10 stars for Carlos – if you have the patience he will transform your swing allowing you to feel confident saying yes to anyone who asks you to play a round of golf.

Adam S. Los Angeles

Yelp: December 2021

5 STARS

What a wonderful teacher and person Carlos is !! I had never golfed before. He taught me to golf in seriously one hour just one day before a charity event were I had to play 18 holes! I was able to keep up with the real golfers (playing best ball). I was able to hit the ball most of the time and got it airborne on several occasions. Pamela who schedules you is also lovely. 10/10 would take lessons again

Nicole B. Venice

Yelp: November 2021

5 Stars

The experience was so great with Carlos, in just the first lesson he corrected a lot of bad habits of mine. He is a great coach and teacher!

Lewis M. West Hollywood

Google: August 2021

5 Stars

Had a great experience taking my first golf lessons with Carlos. He’s a great teacher and really helps beginners get a foundation for the game.

Alex W. West Los Angeles

Google: July 2021

5 STARS

My girlfriend and I had a great time with Carlos for my birthday! As total novices, Carlos was really patient with us and helpful in breaking down the basics of our golf swings. By the end we were able to hit shots with our eyes closed! Hoping to have another lesson soon.

Nicole B. Los Angeles

Yelp: June 2021

5 Stars

My son loved Carlos’ golf camps when he was younger, and now he and his friends are wanting to play the course together as teens! So, we went back to Carlos for some fast help to learn enough to play the course – and in a week of private lessons he’s raring to hit the links. We can’t say enough about the kindness and positive lessons about both life and golf that Carlos has shared with my teen on the golf course. He’s a great teacher, and now we parents also need a few lessons from him so we can join our son and play golf as a family!

Marina L Los Angeles

Yelp: June 2021

5 STARS

Carlos is the best! When I first came to see him, I couldn’t hit the ball straight at all. He helped me build out my whole swing by teaching me how the kinetic energy in my body worked. Now I am able to keep the ball straight and make great contact. I also appreciated that he teaches by actually playing golf, rather than going to the range. Because of Carlos, I am able to continue growing my skills and I can play with anyone. Great coach!!

Keith W. Santa Monica

Yelp: Sept. 2020

5 Stars

Couldn’t be happier with how my lessons with LA golf academy are going. Carlos is a magnificent teacher-patient, observant, and always offering very clear instruction with real time feedback. He takes his time to figure out the type of learner you are and then speaks your language-especially useful for what can, at times, be a frustrating process. An absolute pleasure to work with.

N.P. Los Angeles

Yelp: August 2020

“I have golfed for a little over 3 years and shoot on average on a par 72, about a 87 per round. I never had professional coaching until I took 6 lessons with Carlos. Carlos is a kind, patient, easy to learn from coach and I highly recommend him. I learned why I swing the way I do and learned a great fundamental understanding on ball striking and how to swing. The last time I played a par 72 I shot a 82 and feel like I will be shooting in the high 70’s very soon and it is all thanks to Carlos teachings, that I knocked off 5 stokes on average per round.”

Owen R. Mar Vista

Sept. 2019

Carlos is an amazing teacher of the game. I was a beginner and he has turned me into a real golfer who can play with business people who have played their whole life. Carlos is patient, courteous and respectful. Carlos cares deeply about his students, not only in the game of golf, but in life in general. You can trust anyone of any age with Carlos. I recommend Carlos to everyone I know that wants to improve their golf game.

Kristopher R. Bel Air

Sept. 2019

5 STARS

I’ve been a terrible “golfer” for years. I put golfer in heavy quotes as consistently shooting in the low 100’s barely qualifies me to use that term.

Anyways, I’ve taken lessons on two separate occasions, but each time the teachings just didn’t stick. I might have a decent round or two, but at some point I’d revert back to old habits and begin duffing, shanking, slicing and hooking like it was going out of style.

I recently decided I needed to get back to basics – Learn the grip, stance, the swing, and everything in between. Carlos has been instructing me for just under a month and I can say without hesitation the confidence in my stroke is as high as it has ever been. He breaks things down and helps you truly understand the mechanics. He’s also makes the game fun. I look forward to our lessons and am thrilled at the progress I’m making on the course!

John M. Santa Monica

Yelp: July 2019

5 STARS

Carlos was great to learn from. Built a solid foundation of the game. Course is secluded and very casual, a nice environment to learn in.

Randy M. Brentwood

Google: 2019

Doesn’t matter if you’re a beginner or looking to improve your game – Carlos is the guy you need. Lessons are out on the golf course so you actually get a feel for the game opposed to whacking 50 balls at a driving range. He’s the best!

Jesse S. Beverly Hills

May 2019

My wife and I usually don’t spend the time write reviews, but our experience with LA Golf Academy is well above our expectations. We have each taken lessons with multiple instructors who focus only on the swing. Carlos focuses on the swing as it pertains to the game in a way that mkes it both instructional and fun. His greatest gift is that he can speak the language of both the technical person (me) and the intuitive person (my wife); a rare gift. We are still taking lessons with Carlos and enthusiastically recommend him to others.

Joe N. Culver City

Dec. 2018

Skip to content